MEC Snowfest showcases Biathlon Manitoba

I, (Rachel Koroscil) and Jeannine Beattie attended an event known as Snowfest at Mountain Equipment Co-op, more often known as MEC! We were both there to represent Biathlon Manitoba and promote the sport. Between question and answer periods, dry firing demonstrations, biathlon basics, handing out pamphlets, teaching how to put on and take off the rifles and rifle safety I think we both had a great time. Even with our booth gathering a lot of interest we both had a chance to check out some of the other booths, sports, workshops and MEC gear of course! There were many sports and activities to learn about, not to mention the free hot chocolate and energy bars. Jeannine took part in a storytelling session on the roof (and they had a real bonfire going!) and I went “ice” climbing, (picks, helmet and all…) and learned how to make proper cordage out of plants at a survival workshop. Overall, it was an awesome experience and hopefully *fingers crossed* we succeeded in gathering interest in both biathlon and the upcoming events!

Hope to see you all at the next race and camp!!!

Rachel Koroscil

MEC Snowfest – Nov 26th

Mountain Equipment Co-op is hosting the first annual Snowfest!  Snowfest is celebration of all things snowsports related with something for people of all ages and levels of experience.  Join us to meet your Manitoba snowsports community, attend some free information clinics and product demonstrations, take part in the gear swap, listen to some winter stories and enjoy some free snacks and hot chocolate!

Snowfest at a Glance:

Date: November 26, 2011
Time: 11-4
Place: Mountain Equipment Co-op, 303 Portage Ave.

11-4 ? Workshops
12-2 ? Gear swap
Hourly prize draws starting at 12
All day ? Free coffee and hot chocolate (bring your own mug!)

Connect with your local snowsports and outdoor groups and businesses including:

● Second Nature – http://www.discoversecondnature.ca/
● Falcon Trails Resort ? www.falcontrails.mb.ca
● Charleswood Cross Country Ski Club ? www.charleswoodclub.ca
● Snow Motion Winter Dog Sports Club of Manitoba ? www.snowmotion.ca
● Canadian Association of Nordic Ski Instructors
● Bike to the Future
● Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society ? www.cpawsmb.org
● Nature Manitoba ? www.naturemanitoba.ca
● Pumpkin Creek Cross Country Ski Club
● Biathlon Manitoba ? www.biathlonmanitoba.ca
● Club d’escalade de Saint-Boniface
● Earth Rhythms ? www.earthrhythms.ca
● Ice Riders
● The Royal Astronomical Society of Manitoba
● The Manitoba Storytelling Guild ? www.manitobastorytelling.org
● And several alpine skiing groups

Workshops include:

● Wilderness Survival – Cordage making
● Ice Climbing
● Winter Cycling
● Winter celestial observation (including solar telescope usage)
● Winter storytelling
● Ski waxing
● Choosing cross country sis
● Leave No Trace
● GPS and Spot technologies

Visit the MEC Snowfest Winnipeg event on Facebook for more information and updates!